The AFSC Women in Ag Award acknowledges and honours the passion and commitment of women in agriculture and agribusiness in Alberta. It also celebrates the growing presence of women in this industry. This award showcases the women who are making a difference in agriculture and helping preserve, nurture, and transform this ever-changing sector.

“As a woman who swam alone for a long time in the broadcast industry, I understand the importance of recognizing, supporting and connecting women in agriculture,” said Jackie Rae, broadcaster and AFSC Women in Ag Award selection committee member. “The Woman in Ag Awards do exactly that and that’s why I’m so excited about this year’s impressive slate of nominees.”

The 2024 nominees

  • Andrea Hanson, Arrowwood
  • Annika Mouly, Monitor
  • Brittany McKell, Calgary
  • Brynn Bundt, Drayton Valley
  • Charlotte Wasylik , Derwent
  • Courtney von Rennenkampff, Westlock
  • Dawn Fortin, Fort Assiniboine
  • Dawn Stauffer, Red Deer
  • Diane McKenzie, Warner
  • Dorothy Thengs, Sundre
  • Emilee Oro, Clive
  • Erica Thew, Hussar
  • Iris Meck , Calgary
  • Jean Vergouwen , Rockyford
  • Jinel Ference, Kirriemuir
  • Josie Pashulka , Derwent
  • Josie Van Lent, Mannville
  • Kelly Wobeser-Sidoryk, Blackfoot
  • Kim Ross, Mannville
  • Kristy Belzile, Marie Reine
  • Maureen Gould, Consort
  • Megan Andre, Edmonton
  • Nikki Olson, Red Deer County
  • Penny Fehr, Thorhild
  • Penny Miller, Athabasca
  • Robyne Davidson, Lacombe
  • Sarah Van Gaalen, Foremost
  • Shannon Frank, Lethbridge
  • Skyler Vander Velde, Mayerthrope
  • Tamara Schultz, Bashaw
  • Veronica Doenz, Warner

The winners of the 2024 Women in Ag Award will be announced at The Notables, a special reception on March 17 in Calgary. The recipients of the Women in Ag award receive a unique AFSC-branded award and a full attendance package for Advancing Women in Agriculture Conference (AWC West), including hotel accommodation.

CFCW is the official media partner for the AFSC Women in Ag Award.

840 CFCW logo